INTERVIEWS and REVIEWS

Listen to our Interview with the Artist First Radio Network from June 26, 2013 (scroll down to the "B"s and click Barley Station)
or click here directly: Interview with Cory king

Interview with Indie Music Bus:   Indie Music Bus - Road Trip: Interview With Barley Station

Barley Station's interview with Olaf on the New Country Show 89.6 (Mannheim, Deutschland) 105.4 (Heidelberg, Deutschland) in Germany from July 7, 2012

Watch our FOX 2 News performance in St. Louis, MO from June 12, 2012: FOX 2 News: Barley Station on the Tim Ezell Show

Get to know us better.  Read our interview with Entertainment Vine 
Building the Foundation: Interview with Barley Station
Written by Jan Ostegard


Listen to our 2012 interview with ArtistFirst Radio Network (scroll down to the "B"s and click Barley Station)
or click here directly: Interview with Cory King



Album and/or Single Reviews:


- Review of DAMAGED GOODS 
by Rob F.  ~ Leicester Bangs

Review:   Barley Station – Damaged Goods (Barleyfields Records)

(Rated 5 out of 5 stars)
Since we covered – and enjoyed - Barley Station’s debut album back in early 2012, we’ve been keeping an eye on their progress and regularly checking their website for news. We were pleased, though not surprised to hear that they’d been nominated for a bunch of awards by the Artists In Music organization, have been featured in various magazines and papers, and got to play their songs on radio and television. Fronted by Randy Wayne Belt and Brian Olen Kious, who both write, sing and play things with strings, the Missouri-based quartet have now followed up their debut with a second album, and where “After All” got their foot in the door, “Damaged Goods” should see them push on through.

I think it’s fair to say that their new recordings are a little more sophisticated than previous efforts. They retain a rustic, wholesome edge to whatever they do, but they seem more comfortable and confident in the studio these days, and “Damaged Goods” enjoys a variety of sounds and styles - without ever surrendering their artistic vision.
Here they begin with the album’s title track, a clever lyric about love, honesty and human failings, and assembled in a manner that brings to mind both Ryan Adams and 10cc. “Medusa” rocks up on Stonesy harmonies, before settling in to a rollicking alt. country riff and a verse / chorus arrangement that sticks around, and “10 Nights” is a classy Southern rock-style ballad, with plenty of country-rock nous, and a dash of blue-eyed soul.

Leicester Bangs (UK)



- Review of "After All" LP - by Ryan Chilton at B's RSM Promotions


From the first lines of the album, “Thirteen steps to the gallows/These are the roads that I take” you can tell that the members of Barley Station have done some living. The album, After All, is a 12-song collection of emotions: love, loss, hope, and heartbreak. The honesty in the songwriting blends perfectly with the layers of deft musicianship to form a solid, accessible album.


Barley Station exists somewhere between genres, finding a sweet spot between rock, country, folk and even classic pop. They lend a Midwestern charm to each song. Listening brings up old memories and stirs familiar emotions. Its easy to feel what these guys are feeling. This is not, however, a “lay back in wallow in my pain” album. Barley Station is just as comfortable with the railroad rhythms of “I Found You” as the lament “Can’t Sleep for Venus.”


Overall, this is a solid album by very capable musicians. Their website refers to them as an “emerging” band. It is a good bet that this record will broaden their horizons. Listening to it feels like getting lost on Missouri back roads, and enjoying every minute.

 Ryan Chilton - B's RSM Promotions
Jan. 3, 2013



- Review of "After All" (song by song) - by Tom at Tom Wardman's Music Reviews

"I was thrilled when they asked me to review the album ‘After All’, so I began with their first track, ‘Dream you lost’. This opened with a steady guitar rhythm, which then built up with the use of vocals. Here there was a beautiful tone and diction with the vocals, which was lovely to listen to. The instrumentation continued to build up, including a great use of backing vocals. What I liked with the progression of this song was the change in rhythm for the second verse, as this added variation to the entire song; here, the bass line was great to listen to. The instrumental solo was also nice to listen to, as it was simple but effective. I also loved how this song seemed to have a cyclical structure; ending with the same acoustic motif it opened with. Next on the track list was ‘True’. "

Click link for full review!

-Tom Wardman, Tom Wardman's Music Reviews
Sept 7, 2012


- Review of Album AFTER ALL by Olaf Christiansen - Host of New Country Show

"Can't find a song on the album that is not good, so definitely 5 stars!"



Review of Album AFTER ALL by Greg at NANOBOT ROCK REVIEWS

If you’re getting to know someone or testing the audiophile in them, typically one of the first questions you ask is “what kind of music do you like?” To which the response is undoubtedly “EVERYTHING!” Then you roll your eyes and dig a little deeper. Often times you’re standing face-to-face with someone who “Listens to everything…except country.” Then there is an uncomfortable pause because they don’t know why, but they assume all Country music is twangy stories of a lost dog/wife/truck – insert overused joke here – and they refuse to listen to it. To which they promptly change the discussion to how awesome the last Counting Crows tour was. Please, don’t hit them. Keep reading.

Well friend, the cure for the uneducated country-hater has arrived. Though loosely country, very loosely, Missouri’s own Barley Station embarked on a journey to span the genres; so much that even iTunes identifies the same album by three genres at the same time. The resulting After All is an unshakable twelve track Folk-Rock/Country/AlternRock experience.

After All can be summed up in just one song but can easily be appreciated throughout all of them. “True” is a profound stance representing the ethic the Mid-West trio embodies played out as a love song with infectious melodies. As the song sings “I have this thing about being true,” you can’t help but feel it is not only speaking to personal strength against a painful fizzled relationship, but also taking a stance about their music. Barley Station is noticeably true to themselves with each chord, beat and lyric. They effortlessly bleed honesty into each song.

Randy Wayne Belt, Brian Olen Kious, Nil De Silva and on occasion Casey Wollberg craftily constructed the album which dances unfazed between genres. Dishing out the country (“Last Nashville Rose”), playing to the independent folk/songwriter (“Can’t Sleep For Venus”) and floating on rock (“Common knowledge”) Barley Station doesn’t try to be any one genre, they just play Barley Station.

A win-win situation any way you look at it, After All makes a strong case to simply be yourself. The results, as seen here, will be worth it. So next time you have that conversation and the response you get includes “except country,” remind them 311 is from Nebraska and show them the light with Barley Station.

Greg  Nanobot Rock Reviews
July 2, 2012




- Review of Album AFTER ALL by Rob F., Leicester Bangs

There’s an abundance of creative talent in Barley Station, as no fewer than three members - Randy Wayne Belt, Brian Kious, and Emily Thomas – write and sing. Together they blend alternative country and rootsy folk-rock into a style that has all the pop appeal of the classic Jayhawks records, but remains earthy and resolutely unpolished. It’s a win / win for me, and I’m sure they’d appeal to both No Depression readers and fans of first generation country rock; they just need to be heard.

That can be remedied by visiting their website (link below), and if you do, be sure to pay special attention to “Can't Sleep for Venus” which builds tension and hits emotional peaks like a classic Roy Orbison number. “Dream You Lost” indicates harmonic qualities usually only found in siblings and “Abilene” is arranged beautifully, it’s unhurried and spills its secrets one at a time. They can rock it up too, and “Cobalt Blue” might be the best example. If it were 1991 it might’ve sat on a mixtape between Tom Petty’s “King’s Highway” and Uncle Tupelo’s “Graveyard Shift”, and it would’ve sounded great.

As it is with all great underground music, the listener’s got to be pro-active, and go find it. I hope lots of people find Barley Station, because there are too many ‘great lost bands’ already; we really don’t need another one.


- Review of Album AFTER ALL by marsbands.com

Barley Station is from my hometown of O’Fallon, Missouri. They have just released their debut album, After All, and I would suggest you check it out. There is so much to like about this band, I’m not sure where to start. They have amazing rhythm, great vocals, deep bass, impeccable harmony, tight drums beats, and clever and intricate guitar riffs. Taking a page from some 70s Folk singers, the lyrics have a fresh sound and feeling.

Barley Station is a mixed bag of genres. They have a little bit of everything. Country, Folk, Rock, with even a hint of Jazz at times. Several of their songs remind me faintly of something Right Away, Great Captain might come up with. These are your classic “thinking songs”. Great music to sit back, relax, and just listen to.

Barley Station has an addictive “twang” about their music that, honestly, I never knew I liked. In fact, I had to make a new category in the Genre section for Country just for them. It’s a big day for everyone, I guess. First Aid Kit has a similar Country vibe to their songs, though, Barley Station kicks it up a notch or two.

My favorite song from Barley Station is True (I’m a sucker for harmonicas). True kind of strikes me as old-time Country, maybe even, dare I say it, Kenny Rogers. It has a slow yet progressive beat, great harmony, harmonica, and finger-picking awesome guitar. The lyrics are totally different from your typical mainstream radio crap. They tell a story, are intriguing, captivating and force you to listen.

My next favorite song is Close to One, which has a quicker, foot-tapping beat to it with a little more Pop than True. Straying from the acoustic format, the electric guitar has a nice clean sound (perhaps a hint of distortion) with a touch of reverb/chorus. And of course, they have some excellent harmony.

If you’re in the mood for strong, passionate music look no further than Barley Station. Even if Country isn’t your favorite genre, I’m going to bet you’ll like Barley Station. 

Mars, marsbands.com
 03/05/2012



- Music review by peers on Reverb Nation

"I love the way Barley Station cuts cleanly and crisply through the genre clutter with grooves that slice directly to the heart with honest power. Finally, music with teeth, heart and soul!"

David Namerow, artist on Reverb Nation
 12/29/2011


Review of album "After All" by I Am Entertainment Magazine

Barley Station is not easily categorized genre-wise because they offer so many different 
variations of rock sounds. On their latest project, AFTER ALL, Barley gives us a solid
listen that offers a little bit of country, folk and acoustic music.

"True" is a good song by this diverse St. Louis band. This song not only shows off
Barley Station's experience making music, it is also a great representation of what the
band has to offer in the way of songwriting and uniqueness. The vocal performance on
this one is nice and laid back and it fits the music perfectly. This is a great song that I'm
glad I got to hear. I highly recommend this tune if you're looking for a great song to buy.

Other awesome songs on AFTER ALL include: "Common Knowledge", "Close To One",
and "I Found You". These tracks are proof of the bands consistency and focus.

Overall, I think Barley Station's eclectic brand of rock, country and folk music will give
fans of those genres something to talk about
. Unlike many bands, Barley Station isn't
just creating music and calling it alternative, they've really mixed things up on AFTER
ALL
, making it a truly alternative rock album. I'd recommend checking them out today

by Senseitional, I Am Entertainment Magazine
 Jan. 2012 issue


- Review of single "I Found You" by Eric DeFontenay, Music Dish Journal

“I Found You” by Barley Station combines the elements of melodic
pop/country with a distinctive rockabilly with a Johnny Cash kind of country
feel. The lyrics tell the story of a man who has finally found his true love and is
happy, carefree, and enjoying life. Rootsy alternative country at its best,
catchy guitar riffs, driving rhythms, and a contagious harmony with simple but
cool, happy go lucky lyrics make this a likeable and great track that’s easy on
the ears and warming to the heart.
“I Found You” will find itself at home in any
country music fan’s collection.

 - by Eric DeFontenay, Music Dish Journal